Related Links:
1977 - 1990
1990 Chevy Beretta
180hp 2.3L Quad 4
Jim Perkins
1989 Trans Am GTA
250hp 231c.i. Turbo V-6
Bobby Unser
1988 Cutlass Supreme
250hp 138c.i. Turbo 4-cyl
Gen. Chuck Yeager
1987 Chrysler LeBaron
230hp 135c.i. Turbo 4-cyl
Carroll Shelby
1986 Corvette
230hp 350c.i. V-8
Gen. Chuck Yeager
1985 Oldsmobile Calais
215hp 2.7L 4-cyl
James Garner
The Fiero was the smallest pace car and
the first 4-cylinder pace car since 1912.
1963 - 1976
1984 Pontiac Fiero
232hp 165c.i. 4-cyl
John Callies (Pontiac)
1983 Buick Riviera
450hp 252c.i. twin-turbo V-6
Duke Nalon
1982 Camaro Z28
350c.i. V-8 modded to 250hp
Jim Rathmann
1981 Buick Regal
252c.i. V-6 modded to 281hp
Duke Nalon
1980 Turbo-Trans Am
210hp 301c.i. V-8 Turbo
Johnnie Parsons, Sr.
1979 Mustang II
302c.i. V-8 modded to 280hp
Jackie Stewart
1978 Corvette
220hp 350c.i. V-8
Jim Rathmann
1977 Oldsmobile Delta 88
modified 403c.i. V-8
James Garner (Actor)
1976 Buick Century
306hp turbo 261c.i. V-6
Marty Robbins (Singer)
1975 Buick Century
325hp 455c.i. V-8
James Garner (Actor)
1974 Hurst/Olds Cutlass
230hp 455c.i. V-8
Jim Rathmann
1973 Cadillac Eldorado
500hp 500c.i. V-8
Jim Rathmann
1972 Hurst-Olds Cutlass
300hp 455c.i. V-8
Jim Rathmann
1971 Dodge Challenger
300hp 383c.i. V-8
Eldon Palmer (Car Dealer)
1969 Camaro
modified 375hp 396c.i. V-8
Jim Rathmann
1968 Ford Torino/Fairlane
390hp 427c.i. V-8
William Clay Ford Sr.
1967 Camaro RS/SS
modified 375hp 396c.i. V-8
Mauri Rose
1966 Mercury Cyclone GT
335hp 390c.i. V-8
Benson Ford
1965 Plymouth Sports Fury
270hp 383c.i. V-8
P.M. Buckminster (GM)
1964 Mustang
271hp 289c.i. V-8
Benson Ford
1963 Chrysler "300"
360hp 413c.i. V-8
Sam Hanks
The 1973 Eldorado was modified to put out
500hp instead of its normal 235 horse,
however, the winner, Gordon Johncock
did not recieve the 500hp version
Eldon Palmer crashed the pace car into a
photographer stand injuring 20 people -
the only Indy 500 pace car accident.
Until 2008, Jackie Steward was the
only foreign Indy 500 pace car driver.
1970 Oldsmobile 4-4-2
365hp 455c.i. V-8
Rodger Ward
The Greatest
Spectacle in Racing
Home    Contact    About    Site Map    Privacy
Copyright © 2021 All Rights Reserved
1911-1935       1936-1962       1963-1990       1991-2020       2021-present
Indianapolis 500 Pace Car Index
1911-1935       1936-1962       1963-1990       1991-2020       2021-present