February 2021 News
News Index
Home    Contact    About    Site Map    Privacy
Copyright © 2021  IndySpeedway.com All Rights Reserved
Daytona 500 Interrupted by Rain

Feb 15 - Michael McDowell was glued to Brad
bumper, watching and waiting for his
chance to win the Daytona 500.

Joey Logano was the leader, the laps were winding down
and yet no one had the nerve to pull out of traffic.
McDowell was certain Keselowski would go for it
eventually, and when he did, McDowell would play his

On the final lap, Keselowski attempted to dart around
Logano, but Logano threw a block on his teammate that
crashed them both. McDowell stayed right where he was,
flat in the gas, and drove through a crash scene for a
stunning upset.

McDowell won for the first time in 358 Cup starts when
the checkered flag finally flew about 15 minutes after
midnight. The race was stopped by rain for almost six
hours and ended nine hours after the green flag waved at
Daytona International Speedway.

Kyle Larson returned to Cup after being fired last year
by Chip Ganassi.

1990 Daytona 500 winner
Derrike Cope made what he
said would be his final NASCAR start. At 62 he was the
oldest driver in the field.
Logano’s block of Keselowski triggered a fiery multi-car
pileup that was in McDowell’s rearview mirror.

McDowell, who led less than half of a lap, drag-raced
Elliott and
Austin Dillon until NASCAR finally called a

A batch of solid contenders were knocked from the race
just 15 laps in by a 16-car accident that began at the front
of the field. It thinned the pack and set up a showdown
Kevin Harvick and Denny Hamlin.

Hamlin and Harvick had the two best cars but pit strategy
ended Hamlin’s shot at winning a record third consecutive
Daytona 500. The Ford drivers pitted first as a group,
followed by the Chevrolets a lap later and finally the

But the Toyota group has just five cars and they couldn’t
group back together to reclaim control of the race. It put
Logano, Keselowski and the Ford drivers out front, and
Logano led the final 25 laps until Keselowski made his

McDowell held off Elliott and Dillon. Harvick finished
fourth, and Hamlin was fifth after leading a race-high 98

Only 11 cars finished on the lead lap.
Michael McDowell Won Daytona 500 with Front Row Motorsports