June 2017 News
Home           Contact             About              Site Map            Privacy                               Copyright © 2017  IndySpeedway.com   All Rights Reserved
Most recent news is at bottom of page.
Dale Coyne Racing's Replacement

June 3 - 25 y/o Esteban Gutierrez is making his
IndyCar debut this weekend aboard the No. 18
Sonny’s BBQ Honda for Dale Coyne Racing.  

Gutierrez raced for Sauber in Formula 1 from
2011-2014.  Recently the Mexican has been racing
in Formula E.

Coyne and Gutierrez are working towards an
extension that will see Gutierrez in the car until the
Sebastien Bourdais returns to the team.

Coyne explained why he brought Gutierrez into the
team: “We just looked at his resume. He’s won
GP3, be third in GP2, which is highly competitive,
hard to read F1 resume, because teams are so

After Friday's practice, Gutierrez said the IndyCar
was the funnest car he'd ever driven.
Esteban Gutierrez
Johnson Ties Yarborough - Most Wins

June 4- Jimmie Johnson, 41, won the race at Dover
today, his third NASCAR Cup Series victory of the
season and the 83rd of his career.

Johnson began racing Nascar Cup full-time in 2002,
winning his first race was that year at Auto Club Speed
way in California at age 25.

Johnson has went on to win seven Cup Championships
2006-2010, 2013 & 2016; the only driver to ever have
won five in a row.

Today's victory ties him with
Cale Yarborough on the
all-time win list.   
Bobby Allison and Darrell Waltrip's
record will be next, at 84 victories.
Cale Yarborough had a few races in stock cars before
1963, when he began entering more races.  He mainly
raced Fords throughout the 60s.

His first win was 1965 at the track in Valdosta Georgia at
the age of 26.

He qualified for the Indy 500 in 66, 67, 71 & 72.

He won the Daytona 500 four times (68, 77, 83 & 84.)  
In 1984 he became the first to qualify for the race at over
200 mph.

He compteted in the IROC championship from 1974-
1986, winning the championship in 1984.

He won the Nascar Winston Cup championship three years
in a row for Junior Johnson, 1976-1978.
Yarborough raced Nascar until 1988, his last win coming in
1985 at Charlotte.  He was 46.  This was his 83rd win.
Jimmie Johnson's Dover win was his 83rd.
2018 Brickyard 400 Date Change

June 6 - The Brickyard 400 has taken place in late July or
early August every year since the inaugural race in August

Beginning next year, the Brickyard 400 will move to
Sunday, Sept. 9.

The 400 will serve as the final race of the regular season,
determine the regular season champion and set the field
for the NASCAR Playoffs, which begin the following
weekend at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

“The Brickyard 400 has been one of NASCAR’s premier
events for 25 years, and we’re thrilled the race is moving
to one of the most important dates on the NASCAR
calendar,” said J. Douglas Boles, IMS president. “Our
fans will love the excitement that comes with crowning a
regular season champion at The Racing Capital of the
World, and the cooler temperatures of early September
will make the race more enjoyable for everyone.
Average High Temperature in Indianapolis
85       July
84       August
78       September
Inaugural Open Wheel World Challenge

June 11 - The Indy Motor Speedway hosted it's first
open wheel event where vintage cars are invited from
around the world and grouped together by era and type,
for racing fun around the road course.  Some 300 cars
showed up for four days of sunshine and speed.

This SVRA event pays homage to the 50th anniversary
of Formula Ford racing and all of those who started
their racing careers in them.   In addition to Formula
Ford, any open wheel car, including Formula One,
Formula 5000, Indy cars, Indy Lights, Formula Vee,
and Formula Junior were invited.

The open wheel weekend is a precursor to the
Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational next weekend.
Brickyard Vintage Racing Invitational
                  PRO/AM RACE

June 12 - The Pro-Am feature is a 45-minute race on the Speedway’s 2.43-mile
Grand Prix road course to be held this Saturday, June 17th.

The cars are 1963-72 vintage Chevrolet Corvettes, Chevrolet Camaros and Ford
Mustangs.  Race officials may add other marques, such as Porsche and Jaguar.

As in the previous three years, the professionals will be paired with amateur drivers,
splitting stints at the wheel at their discretion.  

Last year's winners:
Robby Unser (A Production)
Paul Tracy (B Production)
2016 Mark Dismore
Bill Elliott's 2017 Entry - Boss 302
Texas IndyCar Race

June 10 -  Crashes and cautions created pandemonium
Saturday night at Texas Motor Speedway. Only nine of
the 22 cars that started the Rainguard 600 survived until
its end, including eventual race winner Will Power.

Power became the first driver this season to win on two
different tracks. It was the 31st victory of his career, and
he moved up from eighth in the championship to fifth
(283 points) behind leaders Scott Dixon (325), Simon
Pagenaud (313), Takuma Sato (312) and Helio
Castroneves (305). Neither Dixon nor Sato finished the
race, as Sato took out the points leader late in the race
after losing control around Turn 1 when his tire hit the

Castroneves didn’t finish the race either, as his tire blew
midway through the race, causing him to crash in Turn 3.
The biggest incident of the night occurred with just fewer
than 100 laps to go, as James Hinchcliffe collided with
Schmidt Peterson Motorsports teammate Mikhail Aleshin
and created an eight-car pileup that caused a series-wide
blame game.

In the aftermath, Hinchcliffe as well as other drivers and
IndyCar concluded that Tony Kanaan was responsible
for the wreck. The series penalized Kanaan when the
race resumed after a more than 30-minute red flag
period. But that wasn’t enough to slow down the Chip
Ganassi Racing star, who raced his way up to a second-
place finish, his first podium of the season.

Following Kanaan was Power’s Team Penske teammate
Simon Pagenaud. It was the third podium of the season
for Pagenaud.
Alex Rossi hit wall
On Lap 152, Tony Kanaan
moved up on James
Hinchcliffe entering Turn 3.
Hinchcliffe’s car veered into
the SAFER Barrier and a
total of nine cars were
collected in the incident.

Both cars for Dale Coyne
Racing, Schmidt Peterson
Racing and Ed Carpenter
Racing were taken out in
this wreck that involved a
total of 9 cars.

Race was then stopped for
a half hour.
Coming out of the pits, Hinchcliffe spun and caused
Castroneves to run into Sato's car.
Ed Carpenter spun, but save it.
Josef Newgarden wrecked.
Takuma Sato attempted an
inside pass of Dixon for second
place on the dogleg heading into
Turn 1 but he clipped the grass
and spun, collecting Dixon,
Conor Daly and Max Chilton.

It brought out the final caution
of the evening, allowing Power
to cruise to his second victory
of the season
Castroneves would return, but later would hit the wall.
This year in the Indy Legends Pro/Am race, Sarah Fisher won A Production (large block engines) and
Max Papis won B production (small block engines)

Race Results