February 2012
Contact             About              Site Map            Privacy                          Copyright © 2012  IndySpeedway.com   All Rights Reserved   
Latest news is at the bottom
Rahal is Back
Feb 3 - Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing returns to full-time IZOD IndyCar Series competition in 2012 for the first time since 2008. That season saw
Ryan Hunter-Reay finish seventh in the final series standings, marking the 11th consecutive year that a RLL driver finished the year in the top-10 in
driver points.
RLL have hired
Takuma Sato to pilot the team’s #15 Dallara/Honda/Firestone in 2012.  The RLL squad is currently readying the car for its first
preseason tests and expects to participate in the IndyCar Series open testing
at Sebring in March. The team is also finalizing its plans for a second car and
intends to have it ready for preseason testing as well.

Sato, who made 91 starts over seven seasons in F1, joins RLL after making
great strides in IndyCar in 2011. A two-time IndyCar Series polesitter last
year, Sato looks to build on a successful sophomore season that saw him
earn three top-five finishes, seven top-10s and lead 61 laps on his way to a
13th-place finish in the point standings.
Back To Wisconsin
Feb 10 - Andretti Sports Marketing has wrangled IndyCar
to return to the Milwaukee Mile.  The Father's Day
weekend festival will be headlined Saturday afternoon by
an internationally televised IZOD IndyCar race and will also
include many other events designed to create a
memorable family holiday weekend at the Wisconsin State
Fair Grounds.
Takuma Sato
"Andretti Sports Marketing is excited about promoting
IndyFest at the Milwaukee Mile," said
Michael Andretti,
CEO of Andretti Sports Marketing, LLC, and a racer who
visited Milwaukee's victory lane five times as a driver and
three more times as a team owner. "It's a historic track in a
great city, and it's a place that has always been a favorite
for my family. But, more importantly, it's an ideal track for
Indy cars and always produces exciting racing for the fans."
IndyCar will use a new engine formula this year along with entirely new chassis.  

There are three engine manufacturers: Honda, Chevrolet, Lotus

2.2 liter max
6 cylinder max
RPM 12,000 max
Horsepower 550-700 depending on circuit
E85 fuel with fuel injection
Boost: 155KPa for road courses, 140KPa for short ovals and 130KPa for speedways
Minimum weight 248 lbs.
BorgWarner Single or twin Turbochargers
Engine Life 1,850 miles.  Each entrant will receive 5 engines per year.
No "push to pass" button
No Pop-off valve
No Traction Control
What Teams Have Which Engines?

HVM Racing
Bryan Herta Autosport
Dragon Racing
Dreyer & Reinbold Racing

Andretti Autosport
KV Racing
Panther Racing
Penske Racing
Ed Carpenter Racing

Dale Coyne Racing
Ganassi Racing
AJ Foyt Racing
Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Sam Schmidt Motorsports
Sarah Fisher Hartman Racing
Daytona 500 Delayed
Feb 26 - Due to today’s rain and impending rain going
forward, the 54th running of the Daytona 500 has been
postponed until noon Monday. FOX Sports will air the race,
and the network will be on the air at noon and the green flag
will drop at 12:01 p.m.

Until the postponement, ten track dryers and an assortment
of sweepers had been circulating around the track and while
the weather partially cleared, a fine mist rolled in, dashing the
hopes for running the race today.

The postponement is the first in the history of the race.
There have been rain-shortened events but the race has
always, at least, been started on the prescribed day. Four
times the races has been rain-shortened and on three more
occasions, rain slowed the race between five and 10 laps.
And twice, in 1995 and 2003, the race had to be red flagged
until the rain ended.  
Kenseth Wins Late Night Daytona 500
Feb 28 - Due to rain, the Daytona 500 was delayed until
Monday night at 7pm.  Around 11 cautions and a red flag
pushed the race finish to 12:56 a.m. (ET)

Juan Pablo Montoya spun during a caution and hit a jet
blower that was being towed around the track, sending its
200 gallons of jet fuel into a big fireball.

Matt Kenseth won the race again.
Dale Earnhardt Jr finished 2nd.