Dan's IndySpeedway.com

U.S. Open-Wheel Race Champions


Presented below is a scrollable list of all the Indy 500 winners.

Also included are the names of drivers who won national championships that year.

Open-wheel sanctioning bodies through the years have been:
AAA (1909-1955)
USAC (1956-1979)
CART (1979-2003)
IRL (1996-present)
(IRL name changed to IndyCar in 2010)
Champcar (2003-2007)

Retired Indycar Drivers With Most Wins

Pos DriverTotalRaces
1.A.J. Foyt 72409
2.Mario Andretti 52422
3.Michael Andretti 40263
4.Al Unser 38321
5.Al Unser, Jr 31278
6.Bobby Unser 29263
7.Rick Mears 28196
8.Rodger Ward 27184
9.Ralph DePalma 25116
10.Johnny Rutherford 25332

Note: In 1909 the American Automobile Association (AAA) established the national driving championship and became the first sanctioning body for auto racing in the United States. In 1956, the United States Auto Club (USAC) was founded to take over sanctioning from the AAA which ceased sanctioning auto racing in the general outrage over motor racing safety. USAC controlled the championship until 1979 when a group of disenchanted race team owners started their own series called Championship Auto Racing Teams (CART). Tony George, president of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, started the Indy Racing League (IRL) in 1996 in direct competion with CART. As the IRL, or Indycar, slowly grew, CART collapsed finally going bankrupt in 2003. Another group of team owners purchased CART and started a new race series to compete against the IRL called Champcar.


Copyright 2013 IndySpeedway.comAll Rights Reserved. Created Jan. 23, 2005.