Some Brickyard 400 Facts
                 Updated July 26, 2016

• Jeff Gordon has won the Brickyard 400 more times than any other driver.  He won the inaugural race
in 1994 at the age of 23 which also makes him the youngest winner as well as the only rookie to ever
win the race.  Gordon also won the Brickyard in 1998, 2001, 2004 and 2014.  Gordon is the only driver
from any series to have won 5 times on the oval at the Indy Speedway.  (Michael Schumacher won five
times on the Indy road course in Formula 1.)  Gordon won $1,637,625 in 1998 thanks to a million dollar
bonus from Winston.  This was the biggest purse in Brickyard 400 history.

•  There were some other NASCAR races in Indiana before the Brickyard 400 at the Indy Speedway.  
Races took place at Funk's Speedway in Winchester in 1950 and Playland Park Speedway in South
Bend in 1952.

•  Juan Montoya has competed at IMS in IndyCar, NASCAR, Formula One and sports cars.

•  Dave Marcis was 58 years old when he drove in the 1999 Brickyard 400 making him the oldest driver
to compete in the race.. He finished 40th.   A.J. Foyt was close when he drove in the first Brickyard 400,
two years after his retirement from Indy cars.

•  Between 1994-2000, the Brickyard 400 was ran on Saturday.

•  Danica Patrick is the only female to have raced in the Brickyard, beginning in 2013.

•  Dale Jarrett started the tradition of kissing the "yard of Bricks" in 1996.  

•  Kevin Harvick became the first driver to win the 400 from the pole position in 2003.

•  In 2006 Jimmie Johnson became the first driver to win the Daytona 500 and the Brickyard 400 in the
same year.

•  The first year of the Brickyard 400 saw record attendance and became NASCAR's most-attended
event, drawing an estimated crowd of more than 250,000 fans.
Home           Contact             About              Site Map            Privacy                               Copyright © 2019   All Rights Reserved
Related Links: