Home           Contact             About              Site Map            Privacy                               Copyright © 2018  IndySpeedway.com   All Rights Reserved
How does the Verizon IndyCar Series Points System Work?

How many points does a win get awarded?

Each race - the winner will receive 50 points, no matter what. The second place finisher  receives 40
points and third will get 35. From there, fourth is awarded 32 points, and fifth through tenth places
decrease by TWO points as the position works backwards. Eleventh place  through to the final car will
receive ONE point less than the previous position.

Can drivers receive extra points?

Yes! Robert Wickens won pole position at the Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg - ONE extra
point. Alexander Rossi led a lap in Phoenix. ONE extra point for him too. Will Power led the most laps
in Phoenix, that’s TWO extra points.

Are some races worth more in points than others?

As the season finale, all points at Sonoma in September are worth twice as much. If the first- and
second-place drivers in point standings are only a couple points away from each other, you bet that
you are going to get the best racing right through the end of the season in Sonoma with the
championship on the line.

Also, as the marquee event for the series, The Indianapolis 500 is worth double the points. At the
Indy 500 extra points are even awarded to each of the top nine qualifiers with the pole-sitter
receiving NINE points instead of the standard ONE point for the fastest qualifying time.

There are a few additional points up for grabs in the event of a double header race. The only double
header currently on the schedule is in Detroit. Drivers who have the fastest lap in the two qualifying
groups will receive an additional point.

Manufacturer Points

Whereas all drivers will score in a race, manufacturer's only get the points of their top 3 drivers.
A bonus point is given to the driver who gets the pole position.
Two bonus points are given to the Manufacturer who led the most laps.

Manufacturers also can reap 10 points for each engine that reaches its 2,500-mile change-out limit.
But 20 points will be deducted for an engine failing to complete its life cycle and 20 points will be
deducted for an engine undergoing a non-minor repair that requires a component change.
Zach Veach, 2018 Detroit Grand Prix