Replaced after German GP by Ocon.
Related Links:
Sebastian Vettel
Born July 3, 1987
Nationality: German
1st Year in F1: 2007
Lewis Hamilton
Born Jan 7, 1985
Nationality: British
1st Year in F1: 2007
Jenson Button
Born January 19, 1980
Nationality: British
1st Year in F1: 2000
Romain Grosjean
Born in April 17, 1986
Nationality: French
1st Year in F1: 2009
Valtteri Bottas
Born August 28, 1989
Nationality: Finnish
1st Year in F1: 2013
Daniel Ricciardo
Born July 1, 1989
Nationality: Australian
1st Year in F1: 2011
Team Principal: Christian Horner
Chief Technical Officer: Adrian Newey

Powered by Renault.
Deputy Team Principal: Claire Williams
Technical Director: Mike Coughlan
Chief Designer: Ed Wood

Powered by Mercedes
Racing Director: Eric Boullier
CEO: Jonathan Neale
Executive Director: Zak Brown
Marketing CEO: Ekrem Sami
Team Manager: David Redding
Chief Mechanic: Paul James
Alonso's Mechanic: Kari Lammenranta

Powered by Honda.
Team Principal: Dr. Vijay Mallya
Technical Director: Andrew Green

Powered by Mercedes
Team Principal: Franz Tost
Technical Director: Giorgio Ascanelli

Powered by a 2015 Ferrari engine
Non-Executive Chairman: Niki Lauda
Technical Director: Paddy Lowe
Head of Motorsport: Toto Wolff
Powered by Mercedes.
Nico Rosberg
Born June 27, 1985
Nationality: German
1st Year in F1: 2006
Team Principal: Maurizio Arrivabene
Technical Director: James Allison

Powered by Ferrari.
Fernando Alonso
Born July 29, 1980
Nationality: Spanish
1st Year in F1: 2001
Felipe Massa
Born April 25, 1981
Nationality: Brazilian
1st Year in F1: 2002
2016 Ferrari SF16-H
2016 McLaren MP4-31
2016 Sahara Force India VJM09
2016 Red Bull RB12
2016 Mercedes F1 W07 Hybrid
2016 Williams FW38
2016 Toro Rosso STR11
Team Principal: Peter Sauber
CEO: Monisha Kaltenborn
Chief Desginer: Matt Morris

Powered by Ferrari.
2016 Sauber C35-Ferrari
Nico Hülkenberg
Born August 19, 1987
Nationality: German
1st Year in F1: 2010
Sergio Pérez
Born Jan 26, 1990
Nationality: Mexican
1st Year in F1: 2011
2016 Photos of F1 Drivers & Cars
& Rule Changes
Each year, every Formula 1 team
introduces their new race cars, liveries

and drivers for the year.  

Included here are pictures to help you
identify the cars and drivers for the
upcoming racing season.

You will also learn about new Formula 1
rules that will affect racing and the design
of the race cars.
Previous F1 Launch Photos:
2016 F1 CARS & DRIVERS  Spotter's Guide
Kimi Räikkönen
Born October 17, 1979
Nationality: Finnish
1st Year in F1: 2001
Home            Contact             About              Site Map            Privacy                          Copyright © 2016   All Rights Reserved   
2016 Formula 1 Launch Dates:

Feb 3
Feb 18-19
Feb 21
Feb 21
Feb 22
March 1
March 1
Team Changes Between 2015 & 2016:

The new Renault Sport Formula 1 team took over the Lotus team.

There is a new American team called Haas F1 who will run Ferrari engines.

Toro Rosson has switched from Renault to a 2015-spec Ferrari engine.
Daniil Kvyat
Born April 26, 1994
Nationality: Russian
1st Year in F1: 2014
Car Changes for 2016

The padded areas around the driver’s head have been
increased in thickness for improved safety.

Three, rather than two, dry-weather tire compounds will now
be available to teams at each round.

The number of in-season development tokens available to
power unit manufacturers has been revised, while power
units from previous season may now be re-homologated.
This means Ferrari are free to supply a fourth customer
team with a 2015-specification power unit in 2016.
Marcus Ericsson
Born September 2, 1990
Nationality: Swedish
1st Year in F1: 2014
Rule Changes for 2016

Cars must now comply with all cockpit and safety equipment
requirements during testing; such as the position of the
driver’s head, all headrest padding, cockpit padding and
ease of driver egress.

Sporting Regulations regarding track limits have been
clarified and specify that drivers “must make every
reasonable effort to use the track at all times and may not
deliberately leave the track without a justifiable reason”.
Penalties will still be allocated based on whether a driver is
judged to have gained an advantage.

Regarding regulations for power unit and gearbox changes.
Such penalties prior to qualifying will be applied based on
the time of use. For changes made after qualifying,
preference will be given to the driver whose team first
informed the technical delegate that a change will occur.

Any driver who causes a start to be aborted, even if he is
then able to start the extra formation lap, will be required to
start the race from the pit lane. The same process will be
applied to a re-start from a race suspension where drivers
have been brought to the pit lane.

The Virtual Safety Car (VSC) may now be used in practice
sessions as well as races, in order to reduce stoppage times,
while DRS will now be re-enabled immediately after a VSC
Felipe Nasr
Born: August 21, 1992
Nationality: Lebonese
1st Year in F1: 2015
Max Verstappen
Born: Sept 30, 1997
Nationality: Belgian
1st Year in F1: 2015
Carlos Sainz, Jr.
Born: Sept1, 1994
Nationality: Spanish
1st Year in F1: 2015
Team Principal - Guenther Steiner

Power by Ferrari
Esteban Gutiérrez
Born Aug 5, 1991
Nationality: Mexican
1st Year in F1: 2013
Force India
Red Bull
Toro Rosso
Has a shortened nose and a tapered rear end
The name refers to the hybrid powertrain.
Technical Details

Chassis: carbon-fiber & honeycomb composite structure
OZ wheels: 13"
Number of gears: 8 + Reverse
Weight with liquids and driver: 702 kg  (1548 lbs)
Cylinders: 6
Maximum Revs: 15,000 RPM
Engine displacement: 1600 cc
Single Turbo

Contains 100 different metal alloys and 20,000 different
Racing Director - Davey Ryan
Technical Director - John McQuilliam

Engine Manufacturer: Ferarri
Rio Haryanto
born Jan 22, 1993
Nationality: Indonesian
First year in F1: 2016
Pascal Wehrlein
born October 18, 1994
nationality: German
First year in F1: 2016
Driver Changes Between 2015 & 2016

Pascal Wehrlein and Rio Haryanto replace Roberto
and Alexander Rossi at Manor Racing, who are
now both out of F1 rides.

With the folding of team Lotus,
Pastor Maldonado is out
of an F1 ride.  Meanwhile, his old team-mate,  
moves to drive for the new Haas F1 team.

Esteban Gutierrez, a previous Sauber Driver and a Ferrari
reserve driver last year, has moved to drive for Haas F1.

Jolyon Palmer leaves Sahara Force-India as a reserve
driver to drive for the new Renault team.

Kevin Magnussen, leaves McLaren as a reserve driver to
drive for the new Renault team.

Esteban Ocon will be a reserve driver for Renault.  He is
also driving for Mercedes-Benz in the 2016 DTM season.
The 2016 VF-16
2016 MRT05
Jolyon Palmer
born January 20, 1991
Nationality: British
1st year in F1: 2016
Kevin Magnussen
born October 5, 1992
Nationality: Danish
1st year in F1: 2014
Frédéric Vasseur -  Racing Director
Bob Bell - Chief Technical Director
Nick Chester - Chassis Technical Director
Remi Taffin - Engine Technical Director
2016 R.S.16
Esteban Ocon
born September 17, 1996
nationality: French
First year in F1: 2016